Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Kundalini in Siddha yoga

The six Murugan's mantras, 6 chakras and 6 Pleadien stars (Karthigai nakshatitams) are connected each other.

Siddha yoga is one of the most powerful yoga but least commonly known or practiced. The primary reason is the need of the Siddha Guru. In this  approach a Siddha Guru (Spiritual Master) through his grace and through sheer power of his will awakens Kundalini of his disciple. This is referred as Shakti pat (Hinduism to conferring of spiritual "energy" upon one person by another.) Shaktipat can be transmitted with a sacred word or mantra, or by a look, thought/will or touch - the last usually to the ajna chakra or third eye of the recipient. It is considered an act of grace from the Guru to deserving disciple. This transfer of energy itself initiates the awakening of kundalini. Aadharam is defined as psychophysical centers or chakrams in the body through which the kundalini or the serpent power passes and reaches the Sahasradharam where the sacred Ambrossia or the Amirtham is secreated.  The jeevatma unites with the Paramatma and the ultimate aim / goal of life i.e. absolute salvation  is attained. http://www.iksacademy.com/yoga-history.html 

The concept of Aadharam is difficult for anyone to understand because it is not a common thing but a very spiritual aspect. The Siddha yogis or a person practicing Attanga yogam or Pranayamam  for a long time can be successful in the enlightment of Six Aadharams.
The Aadharams are six in number. They lie longitudinally six areas. The Kundalini or the serpent power passes through each aadarams during the practice of yoga. During each stage of yoga , the kundalini reaches a particular aatharam and slowly arises finally reaching Sahasratharam.

Vel is a symbol of  Kundalini energy which can arise along the spine to the brain

Details about 6 Aatharam
  1. Moolatharam : The first Aatharam is called Moolatharam which lies between genital and anal orifice. It is compared to a red lotus with four petals and letter ” Sa” is embedded in its centre.(Lord Ganapathy and Vallabhai are the governing or protective force of this Aatharam. The kundalini is always found in a dormant condition in Moolatharam. The regular practice of attanga yoga arises the kundalini from Moolatharam).
  2. Swatistanam: This is the next aatharam located two fingers above Moolatharam that is between genital and navel region. It is symbolized as a lotus with six petals in which “Ra” letter is inscribed in centre relating to Lord Brahma and Goddess Saraswati.
Murugan's six heads is a symbol of the six chakras which are connecting to six part of our brain
  1. Manipoorakam : This is the next aatharam located 8 fingers above Swatistanam that is  at navel region.It is symbolized as lotus of ten petals inscribed with letter “Va” in centre and governed by Lord Vishnu and Goddess Mahalakshmi.
  2. Anahatham : It lies ten fingers above Manipooragam that is at location of heart. It is symbolized  as lotus with twelve petals with letter “Na” inscribed in centre. The Dieties Lord Ruthran and Parvathy govern this Aathram.
  3. Visuthi : It is situated ten fingers above Anagatham and located in throat . It is denoted as lotus with  sixteen petals with letter “Ba” inscribed in it . The governing deities are Lord Maheshwaran and Maheshwaran .
  4. Aajinai : It is between lies eyebrow as a lotus with three petals. In centre letter “Va” is inscribed and governing forces are Sadasivan and Goddess Manonmani..
Hence, the Kundalini during awakening passes through each Aatharam with the enlightment of each aatharam and the respective letter which is inscribed in it. Finally Sa Ra Va Na Ba Va is awakened with the kundalini reaching the Sahasratharam (vertex) and the ambrosia or secret nectar is secreted. Thus, kundalini awakening enables the person to perceive higher cosmic movements in universe . He is not a normal person as his soul gets united with the Paramathma and salvation is attained.

Kundalini can be also activated through other mantras, mudrai, pranayamam and rituals like homam etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment